Skip to main content

Department of Agricultural Economics, Agribusiness and Extension


The Department of Agricultural Economics, Agribusiness and Extension (DAEAE) is one of the four Departments of the Faculty of Agriculture, College of Agriculture and Natural Resources, KNUST, Kumasi. The Department provides teaching, research and community service in Agricultural Economics, Agricultural Extension, Agribusiness Management, and Sustainable Integrated Rural Development. The Department’s vision and mission are in line with the KNUST Corporate vision and mission of to be among the top Departments to advance knowledge in science and technology through creating an environment for undertaking relevant research, quality teaching, entrepreneurship training and community engagement to improve the quality of life. The Department has over the past maintained its core values of ensuring a culture of excellence, high integrity and stewardship of resources. 



The Department has eighteen (18) full-time staff, comprising sixteen (16) Academic Staff and two (2) Administrative/Technical Staff. In addition, the Department has three Part-time Academic Staff and ten (10) National Service Personnel (NSP) as shown below. 


Full-time Academic Staff

  1. *Prof. Simon C. Fialor                         -          Associate Professor
  2. Prof. J. A. Bakang                               -          Associate Professor
  3. *K. Ohene-Yankyera                           -          Senior Lecturer
  4. Dr. Fred Nimoh                                   -          Senior Lecturer
  5. Dr. D. Awunyo-Vitor                            -          Senior Lecturer
  6. Dr. Victor Owusu                                 -          Senior Lecturer/Head
  7. Dr. Robert Aidoo                                 -          Senior Lecturer
  8. Dr. James Osei Mensah                     -          Senior Lecturer
  9. Mr. Maxwell T. Asiamah                      -          Lecturer
  10. Mr. Patrick Appiah                              -           Lecturer
  11. Dr. Camillus A. Wongnaa                   -           Lecturer
  12. Dr. Amos Mensah                               -          Lecturer
  13. Dr. Faizal Adams                                -           Lecturer
  14. Dr. Kwadwo Amankwah                      -          Lecturer
  15. Dr. Seth Etuah                                    -          Lecturer
  16. Dr. (Mrs.) Gifty Boakye Appiah           -          Lecturer

*On post-retirement contract


Part-time Academic Staff

  1. Dr. Collins K. Osei                              -            Senior Research Fellow
  2. Mr. Imoro Dawda                               -             Lecturer
  3. Mr. Richard Owusu Afriyie               -               Lecturer


Administrative/Technical Staff

  1. Ms. Vivian Awunyo                            -               Principal Administrative Assistant
  2. Mrs. Regina Hayford                         -               Cleaner




Programmes and Courses

The Department runs a 4-year undergraduate programme in BSc (Agribusiness Management) and also hosts two undergraduate final year options under the BSc (Agriculture) in the Faculty of Agriculture as follows:


The Departments runs four postgraduate programmes as follows:

*MSc Agribusiness Management available on IDL mode.